Miquel Pons wins his first MotoE race in Barcelona

Miquel Pons wins his first MotoE race in Barcelona
Miquel Pons wins the Catalan GP of the MotoE

First victory in the MotoE World Cup 2021 for Miquel Pons and Lucio Cecchinello's LCR team; the Spaniard wins the Catalan GP in Barcelona ahead of Dominique Aegerter and Jordi Torres.

Miquel Pons (LCR E-Team) won the third race of the third season of the MotoE World Cup. The Spaniard finished first ahead of Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP) and Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40). Fourth the leader of the standings Alessandro Zaccone (Octo Pramac MotoE). Eric Granado (One Energy Racing) who was in pole position started from the pit lane due to a technical problem. Mid-race crash for Mattia Casadei (Sic58 Squadra Corse).

Miquel Pons (LCR E-Team)

When all the riders were lined up waiting for the green light, Eric Granado reported a technical problem. The Brazilian rider's bike was taken to the pit lane and the One Energy Racing team rider had to start his race from there.
At the start of the 6-lap race, Torres and Tulovic got off to a good start. At the inlet of turn 1 Dominique Aegerter takes the front followed by Zaccone and Torres. In the meantime, Xavi Cardelus falls into turn 3. In the next two corners, four and five, Torres and Pons overtake Zaccone. Turn 10 is the place of numerous overtaking, the first is by Pons who overtakes Torres and takes the second position in pursuit of Aegerter.

Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP)

At the end of the first lap the standings is: Aegerter, Pons, Torres, Zaccone and Casadei.
Aegerter's leadership does not last long because Zaccone comes out of his slipstream and with a very strong braking he overtakes three riders and enters first in curve 1. Good overtake by Pons against Aldeguer at turn 4 while behind them Ferrari performs a good recovery; he is sixth ahead of Aldeguer.
At the end of the second lap the standings is: Zaccone, Pons, Aldeguer, Torres, and Casadei.
At the braking of turn 1 Aegerter takes back the lead followed by Torres and Zaccone. Behind the top five, a second group is formed by Ferrari, Aldeguer, Tulovic and Hernandez. In the meantime, Granado reaches the points zone in fifteenth position.

Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40)

At the end of the third lap Aegerter, Torres and Zaccone cross the finish line but the latter takes the slipstream and at the braking of turn 1 takes the lead. In the meantime, the leading group is back compact with the recovery of the second group led by Ferrari. Turn 5 braking is clearly Pons' favorite spot for overtaking; the Spaniard enters on Torres who goes wide leaving the position also to Mattia Casadei.
New lap and new fight to get ahead of turn 1. This time it's Miquel Pons who brakes hard and gets behind Aegerter and Torres. In the meantime Granado also overtakes Maria Herrera and recovers up to twelfth position.
At turn 10 Casadei tries the attack on Zaccone but loses the front and falls.
In the meantime, Pons pushes his bike to the limit, gains a couple of tenths on Aegerter and passes first at the end of the fifth lap.

Mattia Casadei (Sic58 Squadra Corse)

The last lap starts with Pons in front of everyone; the Spaniard resists the attacks of Aegerter and Torres in turn 1 and pushes to the limit in turn 3 bringing his advantage to 365 thousandths of a second. Meanwhile, in an attempt to recover further positions, Eric Granado falls and retires. Aegerter and Torres are now too far away to overtake Pons at the braking corner of turn 10. Miquel Pons is the first to tackle the curves that lead to the finish line and passes first under the checkered flag, winning for himself and for the LCR E-Team the first victory in MotoE. Second Dominique Aegerter and third Jordi Torres.
Alessandro Zaccone ends the race in fourth place and maintains the leadership of the standings with one point ahead of Aegerter and 11 over Torres.
Excellent race for Hernandez who ends in fifth place in front of Aldeguer and Ferrari who gives the position to the Spanish rider for being over the green zone in the last lap.
With this victory Miquel Pons gains the fourth position in the overall standings, 18 points behind Zaccone.

Alessandro Zaccone (Octo Pramac MotoE)
POS. N. Nat. Rider Team Time Gap
1 71 Miquel PONS LCR E-Team 11,15.075
2 77 Dominique AEGERTER Dynavolt Intact GP 11,15.606 0,531
3 40 Jordi TORRES Pons Racing 40 11,15.652 0,577
4 61 Alessandro ZACCONE OCTO Pramac MotoE 11,16.196 1,121
5 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ OCTO Pramac MotoE 11,16.226 1,151
6 54 Fermin ALDEGUER Openbank Aspar Team 11,16.865 1,790
7 11 Matteo FERRARI Indonesian E-Racing Gresini MotoE 11,16.839 1,764
8 3 Lukas TULOVIC Tech 3 E-racing 11,17.427 2,352
9 78 Hikari OKUBO Avant Ajo MotoE 11,18.289 3,214
10 19 Corentin PEROLARI Tech 3 E-racing 11,20.235 5,160
11 6 Maria HERRERA Openbank Aspar Team 11,20.469 5,394
12 21 Kevin ZANNONI LCR E-Team 11,27.225 12,150
13 14 Andre PIRES Avintia Esponsorama Team 11,39.237 24,162
14 9 Andrea MANTOVANI Indonesian E-Racing Gresini MotoE 12,54.351 1,390
nd 51 Eric GRANADO One Energy Racing nd 0,000
nd 27 Mattia CASADEI Ongetta SIC58 Squadra Corse nd 0,000
nd 80 Jasper IWEMA Pons Racing 40 nd 0,000
nd 18 Xavier CARDELUS Avintia Esponsorama Team nd 0,000

MotoE World Cup 2021
All the news of the MotoE 2021

To be updated on MotoE World Cup, subscribe to Epaddock's Whatsapp broadcast and receive all our news on your mobile phone in real time: find out how here.