The news of the MotoE World Cup 2022

The news of the MotoE World Cup 2022
Miquel Pons with the MotoE of the LCR E-Team

Eighteen riders ready to fight for the title of the MotoE World Cup 2022. Let's start with three days of testing in Jerez de la Frontera from March 7th to 9th. Among the novelties, the new EMCE motor designed by Energica.

The Fim Enel MotoE World Cup is the new electric class of the MotoGP Championship; an additional racing category to the well known MotoGP, Moto2 and Moto3 classes. The competition kicked off for the first time in 2019, on July 7, at the German GP. This year, the MotoGP electric class riders compete in 14 races on 7 European circuits. The first round is at the Jerez de la Frontera circuit from April 29th to May 1st. The end of the MotoE 2022 is in Italy, in Misano, for a double race on September 4rd and 5th, for the San Marino GP. The dates of the MotoE World Cup are the same in which the races of the other classes of the World Championship take place (MotoGP, Moto2 and Moto3).
Compared to previous years, the round schedule has changed; starting from this year, two free practice sessions will take place on Friday, the new style qualifying session (with Q1 and Q2) is on Saturday morning and race 1 is in the afternoon, while on Sunday there is race 2 after the MotoGP race.

Among the riders who compete in the fourth season of the MotoE World Cup we find the winner of the last two editions, Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40). The winner of the 2019 edition as well as runner-up in 2020 and third in 2021, Matteo Ferrari (FELO Gresini MotoE) will also be present, as well as last year's second overall Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP).
There are some interesting movements to be observed among the experienced rider, such as Eric Granado, who passes from the One Energy Racing team to the LCR E-Team and Mattia Casadei who leaves the Sic58 team to join Torres in the Sito Pons team. Confirmed in the grid of the MotoE: Maria Herrera (Openbank Aspar Team), Hikari Okubo (Avant Ajo MotoE), Miquel Pons (LCR E-Team), Kevin Zannoni (Sic58 Squadra Corse) and Xavier Cardelus (Avintia Esponsorama Racing).
Among the rookies we find Xavi Fores and Kevin Manfredi, both Octo Pramac team riders, Alex Escrig (Tech3 E-Racing), Marc Alcoba (Openbank Aspar Team) and Alessio Finello (FELO Gresini MotoE).
Three riders who took part in some of the previous editions are back in MotoE: Bradley Smith and Niccolò Canepa for the WithU GRT RNF team and Héctor Garzò (Tech3 E-Racing).

The bike available to the riders is the Ego Corsa (this is the technical sheet), produced by Energica Motor Company, the Italian company selected as the sole supplier for four years, until the end of 2022.
EnelX is the main sponsor of the championship and the supplier of the mobile charging systems for motorcycles. In addition to EnelX, the other partners in the championship are DHL, Michelin and Allianz. The technical partners are Michelin, Ohlins (through Andreani Group), Dell'Orto, Brembo.
This year the main technical innovations will involve the Michelin tires, in particular the rear, and above all the new EMCE synchronous reluctance motor (SynRM) developed by Energica. This motor represents a revolution compared to the previous model: in weight 10kg less, it has better efficiency and rideability, especially during braking. In the box below you can find how the synchronous reluctance motor (SynRM) of Energica works and its main characteristics.

To be updated on MotoE World Cup, subscribe to Epaddock's Whatsapp broadcast and receive all our news on your mobile phone in real time: find out how here.