Jerez test: Dominique Aegerter dominates the race simulation

Jerez test: Dominique Aegerter dominates the race simulation
Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP)

On the second day of testing the MotoE World Cup 2021 on the Angel Nieto circuit, a race simulation took place. The starting grid was set on the combined results of the first two free sessions on the first day. Based on this criterion, Dominique Aegerter, Jordi Torres, and Eric Granado started from the front row, followed by Alessandro Zaccone, Matteo Ferrari and Fermin Aldeguer.
Right after the start, error by Granado (One Energy Racing), who rejoins the race from the back of the group, while Andrea Mantovani (Indonesian E-Racing Gresini MotoE) withdraws. A mistake is also for Jordi Torres (Pons Racing), who is in the fourteenth position at the end of the first lap. Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt IntactGP) takes advantage of the pole position and crosses the finish line of the first lap with 2″483 ahead of Lukas Tulovic (Tech3 E-Racing), followed by Miquel Pons (LCR E-Team) and Alessandro Zaccone (Octo Pramac MotoE).

Lukas Tulovic (Tech3 E-Racing)

In the second lap, Aegerter immediately drops below 1:48, bringing his advantage over the group to four seconds. Behind him, Pons and Zaccone overtake Tulovic. At the same time, behind them, there is a group formed by Matteo Ferrari (Indonesian E-Racing Gresini MotoE), Fermin Aldeguer (Openbank Aspar team), Hikari Okubo (Avant Ajo MotoE), Mattia Casadei (Sic58 Squadra Corse) and Xavier Cardelus (Avintia Esponsorama Racing) five seconds behind Aegerter. Torres and Granado are fifteenth and sixteenth, respectively.
The third is the lap of records for Dominque Aegerter: the Swiss rider moves below the track record with the time of 1: 47.259, gaining another second over Miquel Pons. The fastest behind Aegerter is Fermin Aldeguer; the sixteen-year-old Spanish rider overtakes Ferrari and starts to recover the gap that separates him from the group fighting for the second position.

Fermin Aldeguer (Openbank Aspar Team)

As Aegerter rides faster than the track record, behind him, Aldeguer overtakes Tulovic and prepares the attack to Zaccone and Pons for a place on the podium. Halfway through the race, Aegerter has an eight-second advantage over his rivals while at the back of the group Torres and Granado recover positions; at the end of the fifth lap they are twelfth and thirteenth.
Two laps to go, Aldeguer attacks and overtakes Pons and Zaccone, moving into the second position, recording his best lap in 1: 48.486. In the same lap, Mattia Casadei falls and retires. On the last lap, Aegerter manages the gap, which is more than ten seconds, while Tulovic and Cardelus overtake Zaccone for the fourth place.
The order of arrival sees Dominique Aegerter first in front of the two Spanish rookies Fermin Aldeguer and Miquel Pons. Afterwards, Tulovic, Cardelus, Zaccone, Ferrari and the rookies Okubo and Hernandez complete the race. Jordi Torres closes the Top10. The three riders that crashed, Casadei, Perolari and Mantovani, are fit.

Eric Granado and Jordi Torres

Here is the order of arrival:

POS. N. Nat. Rider Team Time Gap
1 77 Dominique AEGERTER Dynavolt Intact GP 14'26,440
2 54 Fermin ALDEGUER Openbank Aspar Team 14'36,859 10,419
3 71 Miquel PONS LCR E-Team 14'37,337 10,897
4 3 Lukas TULOVIC Tech 3 E-racing 14'38,242 11,802
5 18 Xavier CARDELUS Avintia Esponsorama Team 14'38,757 12,317
6 61 Alessandro ZACCONE OCTO Pramac MotoE 14'40,195 13,755
7 11 Matteo FERRARI Indonesian E-Racing Gresini MotoE 14'41,132 14,692
8 78 Hikari OKUBO Avant Ajo MotoE 14'41,782 15,343
9 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ OCTO Pramac MotoE 14'44,424 17,984
10 40 Jordi TORRES Pons Racing 40 14'46,296 19,856
11 51 Eric GRANADO One Energy Racing 14'46,797 20,357
12 6 Maria HERRERA Openbank Aspar Team 14'49,060 22,620
13 21 Kevin ZANNONI LCR E-Team 14'52,903 26,463
14 80 Jasper IWEMA Pons Racing 40 14'56,832 30,392
15 14 Andre PIRES Avintia Esponsorama Team 15'02,307 35,868
16 27 Mattia CASADEI Ongetta SIC58 Squadra Corse nd 0,000
17 19 Corentin PEROLARI Tech 3 E-racing nd 0,000
18 9 Andrea MANTOVANI Indonesian E-Racing Gresini MotoE nd 0,000

Another free session is scheduled for today at 18:15 pm local time.

In the "Numbers and Data" section, many infographics are available which describe the performances of the MotoE on the Jerez circuit.

To be updated on MotoE World Cup, subscribe to Epaddock's Whatsapp broadcast and receive all our news on your mobile phone in real time: find out how here.