Race 2 GP of Emilia Romagna: impeccable Ferrari

Race 2 GP of Emilia Romagna: impeccable Ferrari
Matteo Ferrari wins again in Misano

Matteo Ferrari wins race two pf the Emilia Romagna GP of the MotoE World Cup with an impeccable race. The Italian rider arrived first at the finish line followed by Mattia Casadei (Sic58 Squadra Corse) and Jordi Torres (Pons Racing).
At the start Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt IntactGP) leads the race followed by Ferrari who passed Torres at the start. Few curves and the Trentino Gresini team rider attacks Aegerter and overtakes him at the Quercia curve. Behind them two Italian riders: Tommaso Marcon (Tech3 ERacing) and Mattia Casadei followed by the Spaniards Torres e Alejandro Medina (Openbank Aspar team).

The crash at turn 2 of Marcon and Aegerter

The twist of the race comes at the beginning of the second lap: Tommaso Marcon tries to recover the position lost by overtaking Casadei but goes wide and hits Dominique Aegerter. Both end up on the ground with the Swiss rider starting from the rear of the group in seventeenth position.
Up front Ferrari pushes hard and takes the advantage to half a second over the Casadei-Torres. Behind them a group is formed with Medina, Canepa, Zaccone and Granado, the latter author of a good recovery after a start from the last positions.
With four laps to go, Ferrari increases its advantage to one second while Casadei and Torres struggle at every braking point. Canepa, after passing Medina, moves to fourth position and creates a gap to the Spanish rider who is followed by the other rider of the Gresini team, Alessandro Zaccone.

Torres tries in every way to pass Casadei, attacking him at every point but the Italian is unbeatable in the braking phase and always keeps his wheel in front of the Pons rider. At two laps from the end, Torres manages to pass Casadei at the Rio curve but remains second for a while because Casadei gives him the overtaking at the Tramonto curve. Ferrari consolidates its leadership with 1.2 seconds ahead of its rivals at the start of the last lap.
Torres unsuccessfully tries a last attack on the Sic58 team rider but Casadei closes all lines. The Ferrari passes first on the finish line and takes the fourth victory in MotoE on the Misano track. Behind him Casadei and Torres followed by Canepa and Zaccone, excellent fifth. Aegerter's race ends without points for the championship.

The new standings of the MotoE now has Matteo Ferrari in first place, ahead of Aegerter and Torres.

POS. N. Nat. Rider Team Time Gap
1 11 Matteo FERRARI TRENTINO Gresini MotoE 12'11.053
2 27 Mattia CASADEI Ongetta SIC58 Squadra Corse 12'12.049 0,996
3 40 Jordi TORRES Join Contract Pons 40 12'12.151 1,098
4 7 Niccolo CANEPA LCR E-Team 12'14.960 3,907
5 61 Alessandro ZACCONE TRENTINO Gresini MotoE 12'15.672 4,619
6 63 Mike DI MEGLIO EG 0,0 Marc VDS 12'17.099 6,046
7 51 Eric GRANADO Avintia Esponsorama Racing 12'17.150 6,097
8 15 Alex DE ANGELIS OCTO Pramac MotoE 12'17.828 6,775
9 55 Alejandro MEDINA Openbank Aspar Team 12'17.725 6,672
10 18 Xavier CARDELUS Avintia Esponsorama Racing 12'18.095 7,042
11 6 Maria HERRERA Openbank Aspar Team 12'18.921 7,868
12 66 Niki TUULI Ajo MotoE 12'22.567 11,514
13 84 Jakub KORNFEIL WithU Motorsport 12'23.705 12,652
14 10 Xavier SIMEON LCR E-Team 12'26.586 15,533
15 35 Lukas TULOVIC Tech 3 E-racing 12'38.263 27,210
16 77 Dominique AEGERTER Dynavolt Intact GP 12'49.416 38,363
nd 16 Joshua HOOK OCTO Pramac MotoE nd 0,000
nd 70 Tommaso MARCON Tech 3 E-racing nd 0,000

To be updated on MotoE World Cup, subscribe to Epaddock's Whatsapp broadcast and receive all our news on your mobile phone in real time: find out how here.