Race 1 GP of Emilia Romagna: Aegerter back to victory

Race 1 GP of Emilia Romagna: Aegerter back to victory
Dominique Aegerte, winner of the GP and leader of the general classification

Excellent start of the Emilia RomagnaGP by Matteo Ferrari who immediately takes the lead followed by Jordi Torres, Dominique Aegerter, Mattia Casadei and Eric Granado.
Bad accident for Lukas Tulovic at turn two in the first lap, forced to go out on a stretcher for a highside. Niki Tuuli on the other hand, he is the author of a false start and the following penalty of two long laps.

Matteo Ferrari third in MotoE

After a first fight with Aegerter, Torres gains the second position and starts his recovery to Ferrari. On lap three Eric Granado falls at corner four and involves Xavier Simeonin the crash : the race is over for both. Four laps from the end of Alex De Angelis's crash while he was in fifth position.
In front, the leading group of three is formed by Ferrari, Torres and Aegerter while Casadei is fourth but with a one second gap from the leaders. With three laps to go, the fight between Torres and Aegerter resumes behind the race leader of the Gresini team. In the meantime, Mike Di Meglio is also out and retires at cornet six.

Jordi Torres during the MotoE race at Misano

The last lap begins with Aegerter attacking Torres at turn one but the Spaniard doesn’t give up and tries to overtake the Swiss rider at turn four but without success. Ferrari takes advantage of it but at the Tramanto curve the three are a compact group again. Aegerter's attack on Ferrari takes place at the Carro curve (curve fourteen). The German brakes hard and holds the Apex, preventing Ferrari from overtaking from the inside, going to be the first to cross the finish line in front of the Italian rider. In the fight, the Gresini team rider goes out on the green zone at the last corner and is penalized by one position. The final podium is therefore Aegerter, Torres, Ferrari. Behind them Casadei, Canepa and Medina.

In the standings, the Swiss rider extends the advantage over Torres and Ferrari.

POS. N. Nat. Rider Team Time Gap
1 77 Dominique AEGERTER Dynavolt Intact GP 12'11.346
2 40 Jordi TORRES Join Contract Pons 40 12'11.449 0,103
3 11 Matteo FERRARI TRENTINO Gresini MotoE 12'11.421 0,075
4 27 Mattia CASADEI Ongetta SIC58 Squadra Corse 12'13.877 2,531
5 70 Tommaso MARCON Tech 3 E-racing 12'17.924 6,578
6 7 Niccolo CANEPA LCR E-Team 12'19.041 7,695
7 55 Alejandro MEDINA Openbank Aspar Team 12'19.623 8,277
8 16 Joshua HOOK OCTO Pramac MotoE 12'19.682 8,336
9 18 Xavier CARDELUS Avintia Esponsorama Racing 12'19.899 8,553
10 61 Alessandro ZACCONE TRENTINO Gresini MotoE 12'19.986 8,640
11 6 Maria HERRERA Openbank Aspar Team 12'22.912 11,566
12 84 Jakub KORNFEIL WithU Motorsport 12'28.319 16,973
13 66 Niki TUULI Ajo MotoE 12'28.884 17,538
nd 15 Alex DE ANGELIS OCTO Pramac MotoE nd 0,000
nd 10 Xavier SIMEON LCR E-Team nd 0,000
nd 51 Eric GRANADO Avintia Esponsorama Racing nd 0,000
nd 35 Lukas TULOVIC Tech 3 E-racing nd 0,000
nd 63 Mike DI MEGLIO EG 0,0 Marc VDS nd 0,000

To be updated on MotoE World Cup, subscribe to Epaddock's Whatsapp broadcast and receive all our news on your mobile phone in real time: find out how here.