Home Championship MotoE World Cup 2022: here are the teams and riders

MotoE World Cup 2022: here are the teams and riders

The complete line-up of teams and riders of the MotoE World Cup 2022 is finally available. The protagonists of the past season are all confirmed: there will be the reigning world champion Jordi Torres, his main rival last year, Dominique Aegerter, and the winner of the 2019 edition Matteo Ferrari. Back in MotoE three protagonists of the first edition: Niccolò Canepa, Héctor Garzò and Bradley Smith.

2022 could be named the year of consolidation. In the past two years, we have seen many changes among the MotoE riders; from one edition to another about a third of the line-up changed. In particular to get out of the MotoE there had been many top riders like Garzò and Smith, to move to Moto2 and MotoGP respectively, or Canepa, Simeon and Di Meglio, to focus on the Endurance World Championship.
This year there is a change in attitude towards the electric class of MotoGP, which reaches its fourth edition. As a result, there be not only the return of Bradley Smith, Niccolò Canepa and Héctor Garzò, but all the protagonists of the 2021 season will also be at the start in 2022, with the sole exception of Alessandro Zaccone, who will pass into the Moto2 world championship.

In MotoE World Cup 2022 we will thus have at the start the reigning world champion, Jordi Torres, his main rival last year, Dominique Aegerter, the winner of the 2019 edition, Matteo Ferrari, and Eric Granado (5 wins and 6 pole positions in MotoE) who will race for the first time in Lucio Cecchinello's LCR team. Together with them will be Miquel Pons, rookie of the year last year and winner of the Catalan GP, and Mattia Casadei (6 podiums in MotoE). Among the confirmations, we find the Spanish Maria Herrera in her fourth year in MotoE, the Japanese Hikari Okubo and the Italian Kevin Zannoni who will join to the Sic58 team.
Among the rookies to keep an eye on there will be Alex Escrig, 2021 champion in the European Stock 600, Javier Fores, a rider who has raced in practically every category of MotoGP and Superbike, and Kevin Manfredi, expert rider of the Endurance World Championship. Among the young rookies who could adapt quickly to the new category are the Italian Alessio Finello and the Spaniard Marc Alcoba.

The MotoE World Cup in Misano in 2021

These are the teams and riders of the MotoE World Cup 2022:
- Pons Racing 40: Jordi Torres and Mattia Casadei
- Felo Gresini MotoE: Matteo Ferrari and Alessio Finello
- LCR E-Team: Miquel Pons and Eric Granado
- Tech3 E-Racing: Héctor Garzò and Alex Escrig
- WithU GRT RNF MotoE team: Bradley Smith and Niccolò Canepa
- Octo Pramac MotoE: Javier Fores and Kevin Manfredi
- Openbank Aspar team: Maria Herrera and Marc Alcoba
- Dynavolt Intact GP: Dominique Aegerter
- Ongetta Sic58 Squadra Corse: Kevin Zannoni
- Avintia Esponsorama Racing: TBD
- Avant Ajo MotoE: Hikari Okubo

Among the novelties of the fourth edition of the MotoGP electric class, the main one concerns the championship's new formula, which includes two races per round. In 2022 there will be one more round than last year, for a total of seven rounds and fourteen races. Revolution also of the qualifying session, which adopts the MotoGP format with Q1 and Q2 with 10 riders each. More races and qualifications with more laps will allow a better adaptation of the rookie drivers to the driving style of the MotoE.

To be updated on MotoE World Cup, subscribe to Epaddock's Whatsapp broadcast and receive all our news on your mobile phone in real time: find out how here.