San Marino GP: Matteo Ferrari returns to victory

San Marino GP: Matteo Ferrari returns to victory
Matteo Ferrari back to victory in MotoE

Matteo Ferrari wins the San Marino GP of the MotoE World Cup exactly as one year ago. The Italian rider is the first at the checkered flag followed by Xavier Simeon (LCR E-Team) and by Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt IntactGP).
At the start Casadei goes straight to the head gaining a small advantage over Simeon, Tulovic and Ferrari. Instead, Eric Granado e Alex DeAngelis. started from the last row. At the “Quercia” Ferrari attacks immediately Tulovic and conquers the third position while in the middle of the group there is a great fight between Zaccone e Marcon.
In two laps, in the meantime, Granado and De Angelis recover numerous positions, gaining to the center of the group.
Simeon and Ferrari are constantly catching up on Casadei as Torres, Aegerter and Di Meglio regroup behind them.

Dominique Aegerter, leader of the general classification

Four laps from the end, Ferrari attacks and passes Simeon at the "Quercia" corner and goes in pursuit of Casadei. Behind them begins the fight between Aegerter and Torres who overtake each other several times between the "Carro" curve and curve fifteen.
With three laps to go, Ferrari's attack on Casadei starts; after an attempt in the first corners, the decisive overtaking takes place in the very fast “Curvone” before arriving at the braking of the "Carro" curve. Casadei, probably in crisis with the tyres, in the next lap also suffers an overtaking by Simeon and is attacked by Torres.
The last lap begins with Ferrari leading the group ahead of Simeon, Casadei, Torres, Aegerter and Di Meglio. The German rider attacks Torres first and then Casadei three corners from the finish.
Ferrari once again was the first to cross the finish line of the San Marino GP, like last year, obtaining three wins out of three races at the Misano circuit.

Xavier Simeon on the first podium with the LCR E-Team

Behind him Xavier Simeon who gets the first podium in MotoE for Lucio Cecchinello's LCR team.
Third the leader of the standings Dominique Aegerter who earns important points in his first race with the MotoE in Misano.

POS. N. Nat. Rider Team Time Gap
1 11 Matteo FERRARI TRENTINO Gresini MotoE 12'14.331
2 10 Xavier SIMEON LCR E-Team 12'14.544 0,213
3 77 Dominique AEGERTER Dynavolt Intact GP 12'14.703 0,372
4 40 Jordi TORRES Join Contract Pons 40 12'14.805 0,474
5 27 Mattia CASADEI Ongetta SIC58 Squadra Corse 12'14.937 0,606
6 63 Mike DI MEGLIO EG 0,0 Marc VDS 12'15.111 0,780
7 61 Alessandro ZACCONE TRENTINO Gresini MotoE 12'18.724 4,393
8 15 Alex DE ANGELIS OCTO Pramac MotoE 12'18.807 4,476
9 70 Tommaso MARCON Tech 3 E-racing 12'19.246 4,915
10 51 Eric GRANADO Avintia Esponsorama Racing 12'19.387 5,056
11 7 Niccolo CANEPA LCR E-Team 12'19.770 5,439
12 35 Lukas TULOVIC Tech 3 E-racing 12'20.036 5,705
13 55 Alejandro MEDINA Openbank Aspar Team 12'22.779 8,448
14 18 Xavier CARDELUS Avintia Esponsorama Racing 12'22.913 8,582
15 6 Maria HERRERA Openbank Aspar Team 12'23.144 8,813
16 84 Jakub KORNFEIL WithU Motorsport 12'26.126 11,795
17 66 Niki TUULI Ajo MotoE 12'27.223 12,892
18 16 Joshua HOOK OCTO Pramac MotoE 12'50.732 36,401
Matteo Ferrari during the race at Jerez de la Frontera

Here you find the results of the San Marino GP 2020

To be updated on MotoE World Cup, subscribe to Epaddock's Whatsapp broadcast and receive all our news on your mobile phone in real time: find out how here.