Dutch GP of the MotoE: Aegerter wins Race 1 in Assen

Dutch GP of the MotoE: Aegerter wins Race 1 in Assen
Dutch GP of the MotoE Aegerter wins race 1
Aegerter wins Race 1 of the MotoE in Assen

Dutch GP of the MotoE - Dominique Aegerter wins race 1 at Assen ahead of Eric Granado and Mattia Casadei. On the Dutch circuit, the Swiss rider takes his third win of the season in MotoE and stretches further in the overall standings.

On the Assen circuit, Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP) won race 1 of the Dutch GP of the MotoE World Cup 2022. The Swiss rider finished first at the finish line followed by Eric Granado (LCR E-team) and Mattia Casadei (Pons Racing 40) while Matteo Ferrari (FELO Gresini Racing) finished fourth. Aegerter thus achieved his third win of the season in MotoE.
In front of a large audience in the grandstands, at start Casadei conquers the head of the group starting from the fourth position on the grids. Immediately after braking at turn 1, Granado attacks the Italian rider who is late on brakes, runs out over the curb, and rejoins to the track in fifth position.
Ferrari is the quickest to take advantage of the fight between the first two and takes the lead, gaining a few meters over the rest of the group formed by Aegerter, Pons, Granado, Casadei, Alcoba and Garzò. Behind them the duo of WithU GRT RNF team, Niccolò Canepa and Bradley Smith, with Kevin Zannoni closing the Top 10 of the first lap.

Dutch GP of the MotoE Aegerter wins race 1
Dutch GP of the MotoE: Dominique Aegerter wins race 1

The second lap sees Ferrari always in the lead while behind him, Granado and then Casadei overtake Pons. Halfway through the lap, a group of three riders is in the front: Ferrari, Aegerter and Granado, with Casadei behind them by a few meters. Alcoba also goes to Pons' attack for fifth place.
The third lap begins with Ferrari trying a new escape over his pursuers, taking advantage of the fight behind him between Aegerter and Granado. The latter got the better of the Swiss rider with a very precise attack in the fast turn 15. Now it is Granado who goes in pursuit of the Italian rider of the Gresini team.
Lap 4 starts with Ferrari and Granado in the lead with a small advantage over their rivals: Aegerter, Casadei, Pons and Alcoba. A little more detached is Garzò who precedes Smith, Canepa and Torres. Granado seems to have a faster pace than Ferrari and in fact attacks and overtakes him at turn 15, repeating the same winning overtaking of the previous lap against Aegerter. On the finish line Granado recorded a time of 1:43.086, a new record for the MotoE in Assen.

Dutch GP of the MotoE: Matteo Ferrari and Eric Granado

Behind the leading duo Casadei attacks Aegerter at turn 1 and moves to third position at the start of the fifth lap. Two corners ahead Granado makes a mistake at turn 4 and Ferrari immediately takes advantage of it and gets back in the lead. The Italian rider leads the group for a few seconds because a few corners later Granado overtakes him and returns to the lead of the race.
Overtaking and counter-overtaking also between Casadei, Aegerter and Pons; the Swiss rider got the better of him, who at the braking of turn 16 also overtook Ferrari and moved into second position.
Three laps from the end Ferrari launches an hard attack on Aegerter at the braking of turn 1 but goes wide and the Swiss rider keeps second place by crossing the line. The fight between the number 77 and the number 11 facilitates Granado who gains a few meters of advantage. Coming out of turn 5, Ferrari opens the throttle decisively to keep pace with Aegerter but his rear tire goes into crisis with the bike pumping. The Italian rider is able at staying on his MotoE but is overtaken by 3 riders.
In the meantime, Granado's advantage did not last long because Aegerter closed the gap with the leading rider, taking the rest of the riders with him.

Dutch GP of the MotoE: Eric Granado and Mattia Casadei

Two laps to go, the first 6 riders form a compact group with Grando in the lead ahead of Aegerter, Casadei, Alcoba, Ferrari and Pons.
Aegerter immediately goes to the attack of Granado at turn 5 but it is Casadei who takes advantage of the fight between the first two, gaining a few meters ahead of Granado and Aegerter. At the inlet to the last chicane the Swiss rider hardly attacks Granado and moves into second position. In contact between the two, Granado loses support on his feet, thus losing contact with Aegerter.
The last lap begins with Casadei leading the race, closely followed by Aegerter who is not willing to settle for second place. Behind them are Granado, Alcoba and Ferrari. At turn 5 Aegerter attacks Casadei but the Swiss goes wide leaving space for Casadei to recover the lead. For Casadei it seems it's done because Aegerter's bike loses grip at the exit of turn 5 and the Italian of the Pons team gains a small advantage over Aegerter.

Dutch GP of the MotoE Aegerter wins race 1
Dutch GP of the MotoE - Race 1

However, this is not the case, because the Swiss recovers curve after curve. Casadei keeps very closed lines to prevent Aegerter from attacking him but at the last chicane the Intact GP team rider sets a perfect braking and overtakes Casadei.
Dominique Aegerter thus passes first under the checkered flag, followed by Eric Granado who is ahead of Mattia Casadei at the finish line.
Matteo Ferrari is fourth ahead of Hector Garzò and Miquel Pons. Fall for Marc Alcoba at the very fast turn 15 when he was in fifth position. For the Spaniard of the Openbank Aspar team some bruises but apparently nothing serious.

Dutch GP of the MotoE Aegerter wins race 1
Dutch GP of the MotoE, Aegerter wins race 1 ahead of Granado and Casadei

Race 10 Top 1 is completed by Niccolò Canepa, Bradley Smith, Jordi Torres and Kevin Zannoni. Kevin Manfredi, eleventh, was the best rookie of the race.
For Aegerter it is the third victory of the season which allows him to extend his advantage in the general classification; the Swiss now has 148 points, ahead of Eric Granado (114 points) and Matteo Ferrari (106 points).
Tomorrow at 15:30 the start of Race 2 with the same starting grid.

POS. N. Nat. Rider Team Time Gap
1 77 Dominique AEGERTER Dynavolt Intact GP 13,55.704
2 51 Eric GRANADO LCR E-Team 13,55.776 0,072
3 27 Mattia CASADEI Pons Racing 40 13,55.785 0,081
4 11 Matteo FERRARI FELO Gresini MotoE 13,56.211 0,507
5 4 Hector GARZO Tech3 E-Racing 13,56.664 0,960
6 71 Miquel PONS LCR E-Team 13,56.928 1,224
7 7 Niccolo CANEPA WithU GRT RNF MotoE Team 13,58.514 2,810
8 38 Bradley SMITH WithU GRT RNF MotoE Team 14,01.014 5,310
9 40 Jordi TORRES Pons Racing 40 14,01.051 5,347
10 21 Kevin ZANNONI Ongetta Sic58 Squadra Corse 14,05.268 9,564
11 34 Kevin MANFREDI OCTO PRAMAC MotoE 14,05.446 9,742
12 12 Xavi FORES OCTO Pramac MotoE 14,07.096 11,392
13 78 Hikari OKUBO Avant Ajo MotoE 14,08.538 12,834
14 17 Alex ESCRIG Tech 3 E-racing 14,08.621 12,917
15 6 Maria HERRERA Zinia Aspar Team 14,09.075 13,371
16 72 Alessio FINELLO FELO Gresini MotoE 14,13.696 17,992
17 10 Unai HORRADRE Avintia Esponsorama Team 14,13.314 17,610
nd 70 Marc ALCOBA Zinia Aspar Team nd 0,000

Photos: motogp.com

Dutch GP of the MotoE Aegerter wins

MotoE World Cup 2022
The World Cup standings

To be updated on MotoE World Cup, subscribe to Epaddock's Whatsapp broadcast and receive all our news on your mobile phone in real time: find out how here.